BLOG TOUR – You let him in by J A Andrews

Thank you to Sarah @BOTBSPublicity for my place on the tour and to the author and Hera Books for my gifted ebook via NetGalley. All opinions are honest and my own.

Blurb

The only thing she was guilty of was trusting him

All Jenny Clifton ever wanted was to be the ideal wife and mother. When she married Michael in a fairytale wedding, followed by the birth of baby Daniel, her life was complete.

Yet just three years later, the shine has faded. Now, money is tight, and the occasional argument has become daily screaming matches between Jenny and Michael.

Something needs to change… and it does, when Michael is killed in a brutal hit and run, breathing his last with a stranger holding
his hand.

Lonely and distraught, Jenny strikes up an unlikely friendship with the witness to the accident, clinging to the connection with the man who watched Michael die.

But as she uncovers the secrets that her husband was keeping, Jenny realises that her perfect life may have been a perfect lie – and worse, that her new friend may be harbouring dangerous secrets of his own…

A gripping, twisty psychological thriller packed with suspense and a jaw-dropping
ending. Fans of T.M. Logan, C.L. Taylor and K.L. Slater won’t be able to put this one down.

My Review

Told from multiple perspectives which works really well, this is a story of a marriage built and destroyed by lies. When will people learn that material things do not make for a perfect life!!! Especially if you are running up debts to have it all.

Right from the start you are intrigued by the secrets that Michael is keeping from Jenny and wondering what the hell he has got himself in to and this has an absolute killer of a prologue.

The characters while not very likeable are totally believable. Especially Jenny who as a mother to a small child has left the finances all to her husband so has no idea of the financial trouble they are in. Some may think this is naive but when you are a busy mum this is often the case in some marriages. It’s called trust, and unfortunately it’s often misplaced.

Now let me tell you what I loved the most, this may shock those who have read it, I LOVED the mother in law. She was everything I absolutely hate and was an utter cringe fest every time she appeared. A complete snob and it seemed she was almost competing with Jenny in the grief stakes. Like it was some kind of X factor talent show which I will now call the grief factor.

I won’t go too much in to the plot as it would be easy to spoil. The pace is high at the start but slows down a little in the middle as it goes into more detail but I didn’t mind this as it made the end seem more climatic. I only have one real niggle but I am keeping quiet on that one as it would be a huge spoiler but the ending more than made up for that anyway.

About the author

JA Andrews is an author of dark psychological thrillers with books published by Hera, having given up gaming journalism to write novels. When he’s not thinking about sinister plot lines, he often enjoys kickboxing, traveling abroad to sunny climates and reality television shows. Can also be found on Twitter @JasonA1980

Link to buy

Don’t forget to check out all the other blogger’s thoughts on the tour. Happy reading!

Published by

Melanie’s reads

Book reader and tea drinker. Lover of psychological thrillers and original stories that are thought provoking. Open to review requests please email melanievout@hotmail.co.uk

5 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR – You let him in by J A Andrews”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.