BLOG TOUR – She lies alone by Laura Wolfe

Thank you to Noelle @bookouture for my place on the tour and gifted ebook via NetGalley. All opinions are honest and my own.

Blurb

News spreads fast. Gossip spreads faster. Deadly secrets spread fastest of all.

Jane Bryson obeys the rules. A long-standing science teacher at Ravenswood High School, she lives a simple life with her husband Craig and Moose the black Labrador. When free-spirited new English teacher Elena Mayfield joins Ravenswood, Jane’s excited to have a friend who is ready to challenge authority, and Elena’s soon shaking things up.

When Elena starts a controversial club, Jane is ready to support her. When Elena begins an illicit romance with a colleague, Jane is there to help her shield her secret. When people begin asking questions about Elena, Jane backs her all the way.

But the morning after the annual fundraiser, Elena’s body is found crumpled on the soccer field.

It soon becomes clear that not everyone found Elena charming and funny. A thousand people were at the fundraiser: there’s a town full of suspects and a long list of motives. Who was angry with Elena? What had her curiosity and rule-breaking uncovered? Who wanted to shut her up?

Who has told lies they would kill to hide?

A totally gripping psychological suspense novel that you won’t be able to put down, She Lies Alone is a compelling thriller that will keep you turning the pages. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Ruth Ware and The Woman in the Window.

My Review

With a gripping start of a jogger coming across English teacher Elena’s body on the soccer field, we are then taken back seven weeks previously.

Dual narrated by fellow teacher Jane and Amy who works in the office of the school, which her daughter Phoebe attends.

Jane was Elena’s most supportive friend, even keeping her secrets. Although she quickly became popular not everyone liked Elena’s free spirited nature and the trouble she has stirred up.

This book played out like a movie as I read and I’ve not had that happen in a while. The characters are brought to life and full of personality, especially Phoebe and Rowan. Phoebe I pictured as Fairuza Balk from The Craft.

A great whodunnit murder mystery within the setting of a school and small town community. This would also make a really good book club choice as there are plenty of themes to evoke discussion.

This book shows the cliques and politics of both teachers and students, how gossip is deadly and judgement is easy to pass.

About the author

Laura Wolfe is a lover of animals and nature. When she is not writing, she can be found playing games with her highly-energetic kids, riding horses, growing vegetables in her garden, or spoiling her rescue dog. She lives in her home state of Michigan with her husband, son, and daughter. Laura’s YA mystery, Trail of Secrets, was named as a Finalist in the 2016 Next Generation Indie Book Awards. Laura holds a BA in English from the University of Michigan and a JD from DePaul University. She is an active member of multiple writing groups, including Sisters in Crime and the SCBWI.  

Author Social Media Links: 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LauraWolfeBooks/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/LauraWolfeBooks

Website: https://www.laurawolfebooks.com/

Links to buy

Amazon: https://geni.us/B08HNJNBX6Social

Apple: http://ow.ly/R6Zt50BpJ4o  

Kobo: http://ow.ly/eWv650BpJ2I  

Google: http://ow.ly/t2Wz50BpJ5q

Don’t forget to check out all the other blogger’s thoughts on the tour. Happy reading!

Published by

Melanie’s reads

Book reader and tea drinker. Lover of psychological thrillers and original stories that are thought provoking. Open to review requests please email melanievout@hotmail.co.uk

3 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR – She lies alone by Laura Wolfe”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.