Blog Tour – The Couple Upstairs by Shalini Boland

Thank you to Sarah @bookouture for my place on the tour and ebook via NetGalley in exchange for review. All opinions are honest and my own.

Blurb

Our new home was supposed to be a chance to leave our past behind. But was moving here the worst mistake of our lives?

All our friends and family were gathered, glasses raised to toast our fresh start. It should have been a night for happiness and celebration. Zac and I had worked so hard for this: our first home together, just minutes from the sea. But the dream quickly turned into a nightmare…

We’d invited our neighbours too. I wanted to make a good impression – to show them we’re exactly the sort of people they want living on their street.

I hadn’t thought about who they might be, the strangers I was letting in.

It was going so well. There was laughter in the air and the wine was flowing. But then I noticed the narrowed eyes, the whispers.

And then the lights went out.

As my heart thumped in my chest, all the little things that had been going wrong since we moved here flashed through my mind: the food poisoning, the arguments, the flood of nasty reviews shaking my business.

Am I going crazy? Or is someone trying to destroy us?

From the USA Today bestselling author Shalini Boland comes an absolutely heart-thumping psychological thriller with a twist you won’t see coming. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train, Gone Girl and The Wife Between Us.

My Review

Nina and Zac are moving in to the downstairs flat of Mistletoe Lane, within minutes of them stepping inside, their upstairs neighbours Chris and Vanessa are there to welcome them with a bottle of wine and a homemade chocolate cake. Not long after having a couple of slices both are violently ill, food poisoning or the bug that’s going around? I know which I would put my money on!

Zac is a plumber and Nina is hoping her start up fashion business will take off, especially after having to change the name and branding due to a competitor. The flat is a fresh start and Nina’s dream come true. Then in the devious hands of Shalini it all turns into a nightmare….

Nina reminded me of Nicole Kidman’s character in The Stepford Wives. She knows something is wrong but can’t quite put her finger on it but is determined to get to the bottom of it, regardless of the consequences. Zac was your stereotypical man, duly unconcerned and ignorance is bliss. I am definitely in the Nina camp, if I heard furniture being thrown around and shouted arguments I would want to know what was going on too. Chris is definitely an odd one and what’s with the ignoring Nina and only speaking to Zac business? It isn’t 1950 and it’s all a bit strange.

The pacing was fast as always, the neighbourhood is full of creepy characters and if you enjoy being a bit weirded out then I would say this is the book for you. On a final note I’m a reader who loves extras, prologue, epilogue, you name it I’m in and to get both was the icing and that final sentence was the cherry on top!

About the author

Shalini lives in Dorset, England with her husband, two children and Jess their cheeky terrier cross. Before kids, she was signed to Universal Music Publishing as a singer songwriter, but now she spends her days writing suspense thrillers (in between school runs and hanging out endless baskets of laundry).

http://someonewotwrites.blogspot.com/
https://www.instagram.com/shaboland/
https://twitter.com/ShaliniBoland

Links to buy

Amazon: https://bit.ly/3BCnEJcApple: https://apple.co/2UAM2KOKobo: https://bit.ly/36pKd6cGoogle: https://bit.ly/3zQFurc

Don’t forget to check out all the other blogger’s thoughts on the tour. Happy reading!

Published by

Melanie’s reads

Book reader and tea drinker. Lover of psychological thrillers and original stories that are thought provoking. Open to review requests please email melanievout@hotmail.co.uk

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour – The Couple Upstairs by Shalini Boland”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.