Blog Tour – Always in December by Emily Stone

Thank you to Anne @RandomTTours for my place on the tour and to the author and Headline Books for my gifted paperback. All opinions are honest and my own.

Blurb

For fans of One Day in December and Me Before You, Always, in December is the timeless, stay-up-all-night love story you’ll take straight to your heart.
Josie Morgan never looks forward to December. It’s always a reminder of the life she lost, twenty years ago. Now, she always switches off the radio when Christmas music comes on. She always wants to tear down the tinsel her flatmate insists on pinning up. And she always posts a letter she knows will never be read.
Max Carter never expected to find himself stranded in London just days before Christmas. He never expected it would be so hard to say goodbye to a woman he hardly knows. Then again, he never expected to fall in love.
But, this December, when Josie’s letter leads her to Max, a chance encounter will change their lives in the most remarkable way. And their story is only just beginning . . .
From London to Manhattan, from Edinburgh to the English countryside, Always, in December is a romantic journey that’s impossible to forget.

My Review

I have written this review a thousand times in my head but when I have tried to get my thoughts down nothing seemed to work and give it the justice it deserves. This is not your typical, ordinary romance, in fact there is nothing ordinary about it at all.

Josie has just discovered her boyfriend cheated on her, with a mutual colleague, at a work function from which she left early. So it looks like she will be spending Christmas single and alone. Losing her parents at a young age she can’t face going back to her grandparents and feeling their loss as well as her own even more sharply, along with the guilt that also brings. (Not very romantic so far is it!)

But then, on her way to keep her yearly tradition of posting a Christmas letter she crashes into Max, literally and spectacularly. This is also where the book started to worm it’s way into my heart. Max is, not surprisingly, a bit of a grump after being knocked down by a raving lunatic of a girl on a bicycle and his flight to New York being postponed. Two strangers alone for Christmas (yay here comes the romance).

Don’t be fooled though, this author manages to get them together only to then repeatedly tear them apart. You will fall in love with them both for different reasons. You will invest in them and you won’t be quite the same after reading this.

This book will give you all the feels and I mean ALL! It will make you happy, sad, happy again and then furiously angry. Emily Stone is one hell of a writer and the fact that this is a debut is mind blowing.

About the author

Emily Stone lives and works in Chepstow and wrote Always, in December in an old Victorian manor house with an impressive literary heritage. Her debut novel was partly inspired by the death of her mother, when Emily was seven, and wanting to write something that reflected the fact that you carry this grief into adulthood, long after you supposedly move on from the event itself.

Link to buy

Don’t forget to check out all the other blogger’s thoughts on the tour. Happy reading!

Published by

Melanie’s reads

Book reader and tea drinker. Lover of psychological thrillers and original stories that are thought provoking. Open to review requests please email melanievout@hotmail.co.uk

6 thoughts on “Blog Tour – Always in December by Emily Stone”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.